Luke Cutforth’s Kickstarter Campaign

I watch quite a few YouTubers, and recently saw that one of my favorites, Luke Cutforth, was making a big announcement at the end of July.  Like a lot of others, I thought, “Great, another YouTuber book.”  Not that it’s bad that YouTubers are writing books, but it seems like they’re all doing it at once.

Anyway, it wasn’t a book.  Luke is actually making a film out of one of his favorite books – The Drowning of Arthur Braxton – which he explains that when he first read it, he wanted it to be a film.  Now he’s getting the chance to actually direct that film.

That’s definitely cooler than a book.

So even though they’ve started filming already, there’s still a lot to be done in making this film, and they need a minimum of £75,000 (roughly $117,000) to make it happen.  That’s where the Kickstarter campaign comes in.

It might seem like a lot, and these crowdfunded campaigns can be risky, but on the first day the project raised over a third of their goal.  Now they have 27 days to go and they’re now around two thirds funded.  I don’t think this would be a risk at all if you choose to donate.

Now, I personally have never read the book, so I cannot say I am a fan of the book and want to see it as a movie.  I’ll probably read it at some point, maybe I won’t… I don’t know.  What I do know is that I want to support one of my favorite YouTubers in making one of his dreams come true.  And I do know that I cannot wait to see how the movie turns out (even if I don’t read the book first).

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 18 year old college student who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals, reading, and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

Leave a Reply

