Jump To Adulthood

jump to adulthood

There’s no manual when it comes to being an adult.  You have to figure out everything for yourself.  The only thing you know for sure is that you need a job so you can pay your bills.  But everything else?  Well, you have to figure that out on your own.  That’s one thing they don’t teach you in high school… or college for that matter.

Back in November 2013, at the tender age of 17, I was thrown headfirst into adulthood with the loss of my parents, as were my siblings.  Of course, my older siblings were already out on their own managing their own lives.  How?  I’m still not sure.

But as for my twin, my younger brothers and myself… we had absolutely no idea what we’d be facing in the next year and a half.  Sure, my younger brothers are still in high school, so they don’t have to worry about the actual ‘adulthood’ part of it all yet, however my twin and I had just graduated high school and adulthood was something we had to come to terms with, fast.

At first, I didn’t think I’d end up surviving on my own in a different state from my older siblings.  I figured I’d be living with one of them within a month after the accident, maybe two.  I know the only reason I was even able to push on and take my first step into the adult world was with the help of my cousin and her husband, and of course, my girlfriend and her best friend.  They didn’t necessarily “take me in” as much as they took me “under their wing” to help me out when it came to knowing how to finance a car, take out a lease on an apartment and all that other fun adult stuff.

Really, without them, I’d be living in my oldest sister’s basement… or in a cardboard box.

There’s a fine line between still being a kid and an adult for me, as I am only 18 (soon to be 19).  I’m in college and I still go out to skateboard and play soccer, but at the same time I’m living with my girlfriend and a few friends and we’re supporting ourselves.  I have a job so I can pay such bills and I’m learning to cook my own food.  I think the only thing I still don’t do is my laundry (my girlfriend is kind enough to take care of that before I can even get to it).  On the outside it seems like I have it all together, but on the inside I’m still as scared as I was when I first heard about my parents’ accident.

Life comes at you fast; you never know what’s going to happen or when you’re going to be ripped out of your childhood and thrown into the adult world.  Enjoy every moment and don’t have any regrets.

And thanks to Sly for letting me guest post this week.  Love ya bro.

sammy signature

About Sam Campbell

College student living in Virginia with some friends. 1/3 owner of SSI Photography. Still enjoys skateboarding. View all posts by Sam Campbell

One response to “Jump To Adulthood

Leave a Reply

