If I Could See the Future…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Advantage of Foresight.”

Despite the catch of losing one day each time I looked into the future, I still wouldn’t want to.  It’s tempting, for sure.  I mean, who doesn’t want to know what their life is going to turn out like?  What kind of job will you have?  Will you be successful or a failure?  How many kids will you have?

Endless questions.

Being able to see into the future could mess a person up.  If I were to look into the future and see that I end up successful and rich, then I’d graze through life not worrying, and probably cocky, knowing that everything is going to be okay.  On the other hand, if I found out I’m essentially a failure in the future, then I’d end up depressed for the rest of my life.

Of course, either outcome could end up changing, but it would ultimately change the person I am now – and I like that person.

Knowing the future takes away from the now.  We humans put too much time dwelling on the past or looking towards the future that we forget to live our lives in the moment with no worry and no regrets.

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

Matthew 6:27 

Besides, I like surprises – and life is full of them.

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 17 year old high school senior who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

One response to “If I Could See the Future…

Leave a Reply

