Vegan Zucchini Pasta [recipe]

Pasta is one of my favorite dishes to eat for dinner. It was something my mom always made for our family because it was pretty easy to make in big quantities and because we all loved it so much. I think one of my personal favorites was when she made just plain old spaghetti and meatballs. Of course, being a vegan now I can’t have it exactly the way she made it, but I can still come close.

Anyway, I still eat pasta quite a bit. My sister’s friend actually gave me this recipe she found for some really good zucchini pasta and with the help of Lindsey, we were able to make it last night… and it was good!

vegan zucchini pasta & creamy avacado-cucumber sauce

zucchini pasta & creamy avocado-cucumber sauce

What you need:

1 large zucchini grape, cherry or mini heirloom tomatoes, halved jalapeno, thinly sliced and seeds removed, arugula pea shoots, zest of one lemon

Avocado-Cucumber Puree:

1 medium avocado 1 cucumber, peeled and sliced thick a few large leaves of basil, juice of 1 lemon, 2 garlic clove,s 1/4 teaspoon white pepper or black pepper to taste, salt to taste

Directions:

Prepare your zucchini noodles julienne style or spiraled. Or alternately, cook your pasta of choice- 1.5 cups For the puree, place all ingredients into a food processor/blender and process until creamy. Taste for flavor adding anything extra you might like. Toss zucchini pasta with avocado-cucumber puree and a handful of arugula. Serve with tomatoes, peas shoots, jalapenos, lemon zest, lemon wedges and fresh cracked pepper.

 

Let me tell you, for someone who has never had zucchini flavored anything before, I loved this! I was wary of it, of course, since I had never tried something like this before (and really, green pasta?). But I even went back for another plate and a half of this because it was just so good. I can’t wait until we make this again!

But I might have to add in a few extra workouts when I do.

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 17 year old high school senior who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

5 responses to “Vegan Zucchini Pasta [recipe]

Leave a Reply

