Anniversary Surprise!

coffee date title

So I may or may not have mentioned that my 1-year anniversary with my girlfriend was coming up soon.  Well, March 1st, we celebrated our first year as a couple – and considering it’s the first real relationship either of us have been in, I’d say that’s pretty good.

I have listed on my 2015 Goals List that I wanted to get a super-amazing present for my girlfriend for this occasion.  I drew up blank for the longest time when I realized what the most super-amazing gift would be.

Me.

For those of you who don’t know, Sarah and I are in a long-distance relationship now that I do not attend boarding school with her and my brothers.  We were able to see each other a lot over this summer, since we live on bordering states, but unfortunately the school isn’t as close.

So I was able to save up some money doing some odd jobs like shoveling, photography sessions, some graphic/web design jobs… things like that.  I woke up at 3am Sunday morning so my brother Sam and I could get to the airport and just a few hours later we were making our way to my old school.  At precisely 8am I called Sarah to say happy anniversary and gave her instructions to go down to her dorm lobby to get her present.

I think she might’ve woken up the entire building when she saw me standing there waiting for her.

We went for a morning coffee date at a nearby Starbucks, because where else would two fifteen year-olds go for coffee?  We spent a good hour or so there, just talking about everything and people watching.  When our coffee (and her cookie) was finished, we just spent some time walking around enjoying the weather, even if it was pretty cold out.

10615487_815664545145939_6739285289296888053_n

The afternoon consisted of sitting in her dorm room drinking hot chocolate and watching movies that featured a few of our favorites, including Up, How to Train Your Dragon, and Frozen.  Her roommate was generous enough to let us have the room for our extended movie date and for that I am very grateful (I should send her a card).

11018476_1561419734139924_1297803155_n

Unfortunately, the day came to an end and I had to go back to the hotel where I was staying with my brother for the night.  Since we had to catch another early morning flight, I wasn’t able to see Sarah the next day, but I of course, promised to be home and ready for a Skype date when she was out of class.

When I originally thought of getting my girlfriend an amazing present for our anniversary, I never expect it to be an unexpected trip to just go spend the day with her.  Honestly, it was a present for both of us because there’s nothing I enjoy more than just being with her.

1653343_815664541812606_8282402728124401724_n

I guess I spoiled myself on Sunday too.

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 18 year old college student who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals, reading, and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

6 responses to “Anniversary Surprise!

Leave a Reply

