Meet the Campbells: Serena

serena

Serena A. Campbell-Donovan

Short Bio:

sereSerena is the third and final girl of the Campbells, and the younger twin sister to Spyro.

Serena is definitely the light of the Campbell kids.  Ever since she was young she always had a positive outlook on life and saw the good in people.  If any of her siblings or friends are having a rough day she is guaranteed to cheer them up in a matter of minutes.

She is the least sporty of the girls, but still managed to put in a few years of cheerleading and volleyball, if only to hang out with her friends more.  She soon dropped both sports in favor of just sitting in the stands cheering on her friends in each of their designated sports.  When Serena and her friends moved on to college, she wanted to follow in her sister Sandy’s footsteps and pursue psychology, however she changed her major to Deaf Studies when one of her siblings began to lose his hearing.  She then began learning American Sign Language, along with the rest of the family, and in December 2014 she received her Bachelor’s degree in Deaf Studies.

In May of 2012, following a 5-year strong relationship, Serena married her high school sweetheart and on June 7th, 2014 she and her husband welcomed their first child into the world – Alyson.

SIBLING INTERVIEW:

Is it still hard to believe that you’re now a mother?

At times, usually when I look back at old photos of my friends and I in high school.  But being a mother is one of the best things that’s ever happened to me.

Did you ever think you’d be the first of our siblings to have children?

No way.  I always thought either Sandy or Spyro would have kids first.

What are some of your interests?

Writing, for sure.  I’ve always loved expressing my thoughts on paper.  I’m also huge on baking, now that I actually know how to without messing up.

Have you ever thought about becoming one of those mom-bloggers?

Actually, not really.  I mean, I read blogs, but I don’t think I have the discipline to keep up with one.

Where can we find you on typical Saturday morning?

Baking and talking to Aly while she sits in her high chair eating and throwing her food.  Thankfully, I’m usually joined by my husband who makes sure I don’t slip on her mess.

Was it hard to juggle work, school and being a new mother?

Yes, but thankfully I only had two classes my very last semester, so that was some relief.

Do you have any plans for that Deaf Studies degree?

I’m thinking of working in a school where they need an assistant to sign for students in a classroom or just becoming an interpreter in general.  I would prefer the school setting though.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

There she is, my last sister to profile.  Still have four more brother to go!  Tune in next week to meet the next Campbell sibling!

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 18 year old college student who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals, reading, and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

6 responses to “Meet the Campbells: Serena

Leave a Reply

