Long Distance Valentine

For those of you who don’t know, I am in a long distance relationship with this amazing girl I met at boarding school the one year I attended.

When we met, she instantly became my best friend.  All of our free time at school was spent together and when I was going through a really rough time in my life, she was there for me.  She knew when to talk and when to just sit by my side in silence or just listen when I needed to vent.  I would not have gotten out of that funk without her.

Now that I don’t get to see her everyday, other than Skype and FaceTime, I have definitely grasped the meaning of the saying, “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”  I miss seeing her in person like crazy.  When she and her mom came to visit this past Christmas-break it was the best few days of my life, but then she had to go back to school.

This is our first Valentine’s Day as a couple, but we’re not really that into it.  Not because of the distance, but our 1 year anniversary is literally two weeks and a day away, so we felt like going all out for Valentine’s Day wasn’t necessary.  I did, however, still send her a card with flowers and candy and in return I found my own Valentine’s package in the mail today (good timing US Postal Service).

I have the best girlfriend ever! she sent me #vegan truffles from Premium Chocolatiers! 😍

A post shared by Sylvester Campbell (@sly_alan99) on

Not bad for a first Valentine’s Day if I say so myself.  But I’m definitely more excited for what I have planned for our anniversary.

I hope everyone else enjoys their Valentine’s Day, single or not, show some love!

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 18 year old college student who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals, reading, and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

Leave a Reply

