Perspective Can Change

As human beings, it’s pretty cool how we can all look at something and have a completely different perspective on it.  I also find it interesting that a bunch of us can do one thing, but for many different reasons.

Say… going vegan.

A few months ago I wrote a post entitled Stop the Stereotypes because quite frankly, I was sick of being judged as an animal rights activist when people found out I’m vegan.  Not to different from other people, I chose to go vegan because it is one of the healthier diets out here.  Since I never ate meat all that much to begin with, it was a little easier to make the change.  Either way, it wasn’t because I suddenly became an animal rights activist that I became a vegan.  I just simply wanted a healthier diet/lifestyle.

Curiosity has gotten the better of me though.  Since these people I don’t even know are assuming I’m an animal rights activist, I decided to look into why some people live a vegan lifestyle in order to be “cruelty-free.”  To be honest, I was disgusted how some animals are treated for food processing and now I can understand why people choose to become vegan for this reason.

But I have to wonder, are they only living a vegan, cruelty-free lifestyle?  Or are they still living the rest of their life as someone who is not passionate about saving animals?

As in, are they also using cruelty-free products?  I believe it’s no secret that animals are used for testing a variety of products, though some might have been banned if I read correctly.  Still, if a person wants to preach a vegan lifestyle to others because it’s cruel to the animals, then shouldn’t they also boycott regular make-up and other product companies that are not cruelty-free?

I guess unless they’re being specific to how animals are treated on the food processing aspect, then they don’t have to.

I will say that what I’ve learned from this has definitely ensured that I will not ever change my vegan diet.  Though I’m not going to go out preaching that others should become vegans because of animal rights, I still was affected by what I have seen from my research.  So no worries, I will not force my vegan diet on anyone.

After all, “To each their own.”

sly

About Sly Campbell

Sly is a 17 year old high school senior who enjoys photography, riding his bike, cooking vegan meals and web design. Oh, he enjoys writing too. View all posts by Sly Campbell

Leave a Reply

